History

Many years before the Child Welfare League of Canada (CWLC) was founded, Canadians working in the field of child and youth services were active in the Child Welfare League of America (CWLA), the oldest and largest North American organization devoted to the well-being of children. Indeed, Canadian agencies and government departments have been members of the CWLA since the late 1920s.

In the mid 1980s, a number of Canadian members asked the CWLA to provide stronger membership services in Canada, and as a result, the CWLA hired a Canadian consultant to provide membership support and to conduct a needs assessment.

Two priorities emerged: first, the need for a Canadian public policy symposium and, second, the need to explore the potential for a stronger, more permanent CWLA presence in Canada, possibly with a Canadian office.

Working in partnership with the Canadian Council on Children and Youth and the Canadian Child Welfare Association, Canadian members of the CWLA proceeded to plan a major public policy symposium on children’s issues. The CWLA provided the secretariat function and seed funding during the planning phase and coordinated the symposium, called Canada’s Children: The Priority for the ‘90s, which was held in Ottawa in October 1991.

The symposium was a catalyst for more action at the national level through continuing alliances and follow-up with federal politicians and the Federation of Canadian Municipalities. As a result of the conference, several provincial coalitions developed, which today continue to work on behalf of children and youth.

A Canadian office of the CWLA opened in Ottawa in January, 1992. It was able to respond to the need for a stronger emphasis on public policy and advocacy – functions that could not be handled by a headquarters in the U.S.

In May 1992, CWLA/Canada members set up a National Steering Committee, chaired by Monsignor William Irwin of Edmonton Catholic Social Services, to shape a Canadian organization. The goal was to provide member support not available from existing Canadian organizations and to work with other organizations to prevent duplication of effort.

The National Steering Committee recommended the establishment of the Child Welfare League of Canada, which would continue its affiliation with CWLA to ensure Canadian members access to special CWLA services and publications. The CWLA agreed to provide financial support for the Canadian organization for three years.

The Child Welfare League of Canada was incorporated under federal law in April 1994 and received its status as a charitable organization in October 1994.

Today, the Child Welfare League of Canada is a fully national organization with over 100 members in all provinces and territories, including representation at the federal level. Member organizations include provincial/territorial ministries of child and family services, child and family service agencies, health and social services, youth services and university research units and faculties. CWLC members serve over a million families and children each year. 

As a membership organization CWLC provides leadership and support to its members, including technical assistance, timely information on research findings and best practices, and opportunities for networking across provincial/territorial borders.

CWLC membership and services are open and accessible to organizations and persons of all cultures, ethnic origins and social classes. CWLC provides services, publications and information in both official languages.

Donate Now

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Histoire

Bien avant la fondation de la Ligue pour le bien-être de l’enfance du Canada (LBEC), les Canadiens oeuvrant dans les services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse étaient actifs au sein de la Child Welfare League of America (CWLA), la plus ancienne et plus grande organisation nord-américaine vouée au bien-être des enfants. En fait, certains  organismes et  ministères gouvernementaux canadiens sont membres de la CWLA depuis la fin des années 1920.

Au milieu des années 1980, des membres canadiens ont demandé à la CWLA d’accroître les services fournis aux membres du Canada. La CWLA a alors recruté un consultant canadien pour fournir du soutien aux membres et procéder à une évaluation des besoins.

Deux priorités se sont imposées : premièrement, la nécessité de tenir un symposium sur les politiques publiques canadiennes, et deuxièmement, le besoin d’explorer le potentiel d’une présence accrue et permanente de la CWLA au Canada, peut-être même avec un bureau canadien.

En partenariat avec le Conseil canadien de l’enfance et de la jeunesse et l’Association canadienne d’aide à l’enfance en difficulté, les membres canadiens de la CWLA ont organisé un important symposium sur les politiques publiques reliées aux enfants. La CWLA a assumé la fonction de secrétariat, a fourni des fonds de lancement pendant la phase de planification et a coordonné le symposium intitulé Les enfants du Canada : La priorité des années 1990, tenu à Ottawa en octobre 1991.

La conférence a servie de  catalyseur permettant  une action accrue à l’échelle nationale grâce à des alliances continues  et un suivi auprès de responsables fédéraux de politiques et auprès de la Fédération canadienne des municipalités. Suite à la conférence, plusieurs coalitions provinciales ont vu le jour et continuent d’oeuvrer aujourd’hui au nom des enfants et des jeunes.

Un bureau canadien de la CWLA a ouvert ses portes à Ottawa en janvier 1992. Cette présence canadienne a permis de  mettre davantage l’accent sur les politiques publiques  et sur la revendication , des aspects que le bureau central situé aux États-Unis ne pouvait pas effectuer.

En mai 1992, les membres de la CWLA et du Canada ont formé un comité directeur national, dirigé par monseigneur William Irwin des Services sociaux catholiques d’Edmonton, façonner  une organisation à l’image du Canada. L’objectif était de fournir aux membres du soutien non disponible auprès des organisations canadiennes existantes et de travailler avec d’autres organisations pour prévenir le chevauchement des efforts.

Le comité directeur national a recommandé la création de la Ligue pour le bien-être de l’enfance du Canada, qui serait affiliée à la CWLA afin de donner accès aux publications et services spécifiques à  cette organisation aux membres canadiens. La CWLA a accepté de  fournir un soutien financier à l’organisation canadienne pendant trois ans.

Ainsi, la Ligue pour le bien-être de l’enfance du Canada a été incorporée en vertu de la loi fédérale en avril 1994 et a reçu le statut d’organisme de bienfaisance en octobre de cette même année.

Faire un don maintenant par CanadaHelps.org