Parenting Resources Information Development Education (PRIDE)

The Parenting Resources for Information, Development and Education (PRIDE) program is designed to strengthen the quality of family foster care and adoption services.

This is accomplished by providing a standardized, consistent, structured framework for the competency-based recruitment, preparation, and selection of foster parents and adoptive parents, and for foster parent in-service training and ongoing professional development.

The program was developed through a project initiated and developed over several years by the Illinois Department of Family and Children's Services and the Child Welfare League of America. The project involved the collaboration of child welfare agencies in 14 states, one private family foster care agency operating in several states, two national resource centres, one foundation, and several universities and colleges.

The PRIDE program represents the state of the art in foster and adoptive parent preparation, development and support. Content of the materials used is consistent with the CWLA Standards of Excellence for Family Foster Care, which specifies the competencies and training approach offered in the PRIDE program.

The Model

PRIDE is a 14-step process to develop and support resource families. It has two major training components: 

  1. Foster PRIDE/Adopt PRIDE, the pre-service component of PRIDE, is a program for the recruitment, preparation, assessment, and selection of prospective foster parents and adoptive parents.

  2. Foster PRIDE Core is an in-service training program for new and experienced foster parents, much of which may also be of interest to adoptive parents.

Integral to both components is the belief that protecting and nurturing children at risk and strengthening all their families (birth, foster, adoptive) requires teamwork among individuals with diverse knowledge and skills -- all working with a shared vision and toward a common goal. 

Foster parents and adoptive parents are essential members of this team. Like caseworkers, they require preparation and training to acquire the competencies (knowledge and skills) they need to be effective members of the team.

Foster PRIDE/Adopt PRIDE and Foster PRIDE Core are designed to teach knowledge and skills in five essential categories of competence for foster parents and adoptive parents:

  • Protecting and nurturing children
  • Meeting children's developmental needs, and addressing developmental delays
  • Supporting relationships between children and their families
  • Connecting children to safe, nurturing relationships intended to last a lifetime
  • Working as a member of a professional team.

This program offers an integrated approach -- based on competency -- to recruitment, family assessment, and pre-service training. Through a series of at-home consultations and competency-based training sessions, prospective families are given the opportunity to learn and practice the knowledge and skills they will need as new foster parents or adoptive parents. The readiness of families to foster or adopt is assessed in the context of their ability and willingness to meet the essential competencies.

Foster PRIDE/Adopt PRIDE resources

Foster PRIDE/Adopt PRIDE offers the following resources:

The Practice Handbook addresses the 14-step process. This includes planning and implementing recruitment strategies, responding to telephone inquiries, and conducting at-home family consultations using eco-maps, genograms, and other assessment tools to identify strengths and address areas of concern.

Central to this process is the assessment of prospective parents. That assessment must be culturally sensitive. It must carefully measure families’ competencies at the pre-service level and it must determine the willingness of each family to become part of the child protection team.

he Practice Handbook includes The Family Development Plan (FDP), a written plan describing a foster family's competencies, annual training goals, methods for reaching those goals, and how to determine if goals have been met. The family and the agency develop the FDP together. It guides the ongoing process of developing and supporting individual foster families and can direct the agency's overall system for enhancing the collective competencies of its foster parents. The FDP helps foster parents and agencies determine how to get "the right training to the right foster parents”.

The Trainer's Guide provides content and direction for conducting nine three-hour pre-service sessions.

Session One: Connecting with PRIDE

Session Two: Teamwork towards permanency

Session Three: Meeting developmental needs: Attachment

Session Four: Meeting developmental needs: Loss

Session Five: Strengthening family relationships

Session Six: Meeting developmental needs: Discipline

Session Seven: Continuing family relationships

Session Eight: Planning for change

Session Nine: Making an informed decision: Taking PRIDE.

Foster PRIDE Core training and resources

Foster PRIDE Core consists of 10 modules of competency based on in-service training. Totaling 84 hours, the modules range in duration from three to 15 hours each.

Resources include The Trainer's Guide that provides content and direction for conducting the modules. Subjects and durations of each module are as follows:

Module 1: The foundation for meeting the developmental needs of children at risk (12 hours)

Module 2: Using discipline to protect, nurture and meet developmental needs (9 hours)

Module 3: Addressing developmental issues related to sexuality (3 hours)

Module 4: Responding to the signs and symptoms of sexual abuse (6 hours)

Module 5: Supporting relationships between children and their families (9 hours)

Module 6: Working as a professional team member (9 hours)

Module 7: Promoting children's personal and cultural identity (6 hours)

Module 8: Promoting permanency outcomes (9 hours)

Module 9: Managing the fostering experience (6 hours)

Module 10: Understanding the effects of chemical dependency on children and families (15 hours).

There is a Pridebook included with each module. It contains all the resource materials participants will use in the sessions and for reference at home. The materials include worksheets for use during the session, a summary of session content, and resource reading for the home.

Implementing the PRIDE Program

Through its work with the state agencies that collaborated in the development of the PRIDE program, the Training Institute of the CWLA has gained experience helping agencies design and carry out an agency-wide plan for implementing the PRIDE training program. The Institute's training staff can provide consultation and technical assistance to agency training units and management and planning groups interested in improving the quality of family foster care and adoption services. 

Depending on an agency’s specific needs, Institute staff can provide a variety of training services, including:

  • Half-day and full-day workshops to inform agency staff, foster parents, and adoptive parents about the program
  • On-site intensive training for family development specialists and trainers on conducting the Foster PRIDE/Adopt PRIDE sessions and conducting family assessments
  • Training for agency trainers on how to teach the PRIDE program on an ongoing basis to trainers and family development specialists.

For more information
E-mail: info@cwlc.ca

**Please note** CWLC does not offer PRIDE training. However, if you are interested in attending PRIDE classes, please contact your local Children's Aid Society or local child protection authorities. A list of provincial/territorial authorities are available here.

Donate Now

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Processus du perfectionnement et du soutien des familles-ressources (PPSFR)

Le Processus du perfectionnement et du soutien des familles-ressources (PPSFR) est un programme voué  à améliorer  la qualité des services offerts par  les familles d'accueil et les services d'adoption.

Ce programme est réalisé en offrant un cadre standardisé, uniforme  et structuré pour l e recrutement axé sur la compétence, la préparation et la sélection des parents  d’accueil ou des parents adoptifs, ainsi que pour la formation interne  et le perfectionnement  continu des parents  d’accueil.

Le programme a été établi dans le cadre d'un projet lancé et élaboré sur plusieurs années par le ministère des Services à la famille et aux enfants de l'Illinois et la Child Welfare League of America. Le projet a bénéficié de la collaboration d'agences de protection et de bien-être de l'enfance de 14 États, d'une agence privée de familles d'accueil oeuvrant dans plusieurs États, de deux centres nationaux de ressources, d'une fondation et de plusieurs universités et collèges.

Le programme PPSFR représente ce qu'il y a de mieux en matière de préparation, de perfectionnement et de soutien  des parents  d’accueil et des parents adoptifs. Le matériel utilisé est conforme aux normes d'excellence de la CWLA en matière de placement familial.  Ces normes contribuent donc à  préciser les compétences et la méthode de formation offerte par ce programme.

Le modèle

Le PPSFR est un processus en 14 étapes pour former et appuyer les familles- ressources. Ce programme comprend deux principaux éléments de formation :

  1. PPSFR Accueil/PPSFR Adoption, la composante pré-service du PPSFR, est un programme de recrutement, de préparation, d'évaluation et de sélection de parents  d'accueil et de parents adoptifs potentiels.

  2. PPSFR/Accueil-Base est un programme de formation interne  autant pour les nouveaux parents d'accueil que les parents expérimentés. Les parents adoptifs peuvent aussi bénéficier d’une grande  partie de ce programme.

Les deux programmes sont centrés sur la croyance  que la protection et les soins aux enfants à risque, ainsi que l’appui apporté  à  toutes les familles de ces enfants (de naissance, d'accueil, adoptive) exige  un travail d'équipe parmi des personnes possédant des connaissances et des compétences diverses, oeuvrant tous avec une vision et un objectif communs.

Les parents  d'accueil et les parents adoptifs sont des membres essentiels de cette équipe. Tout comme les agents chargés de cas,  ils ont besoin de préparation et de formation pour acquérir les compétences (connaissances et habiletés) nécessaires pour être des membres efficaces de l'équipe.

Les programmes PPSFR/Accueil, PPSFR/Adoption et PPSFR/Accueil-Base sont conçus pour enseigner les connaissances et les compétences dans cinq catégories essentielles pour les parents  d'accueil et les parents d'adoption :

  • Protéger et prendre soins des enfants
  • Répondre aux besoins développementaux des enfants et  compenser pour les retards de développement
  • Encourager les relations entre les enfants et leurs familles
  • Aider les enfants à créer  des relations sécuritaires et attentionnées  susceptibles de durée toute une vie
  • Travailler comme membre d'une équipe professionnelle

Ce programme offre une approche intégrée – basée sur la compétence – au recrutement, à l'évaluation  familiale et à la formation préalable. Par le biais de consultations à domicile et d’ateliers axés sur   les compétences, les familles potentielles ont l'occasion d'acquérir et de pratiquer les habiletés  dont ils auront besoin en tant que nouveaux parents  d’accueil ou parents adoptifs. La capacité des familles à accueillir ou à adopter est déterminée en fonction de leur aptitude et de leur volonté à posséder les compétences essentielles.

Ressources du PPSFR/Accueil et du PPSFR/Adoption

Le PPSFR/Accueil et PPSFR/Adoption offrent les ressources suivantes :

Le Manuel de pratique traite du processus en 14 étapes. Il comprend la planification et la mise en œuvre des stratégies de recrutement, la réponse aux enquêtes téléphoniques et les consultations auprès de familles à leur domicile en utilisant des cartes-éco, des génogrammes et autres outils d'évaluation pour identifier  les points forts et discuter des questions préoccupantes.

L'évaluation des parents  d’accueil potentiels est  l’aspect central de ce processus. L'évaluation doit tenir compte des différences culturelles. Préalablement, elle doit soigneusement mesurer les compétences  des familles et la volonté de chacune d’elles à faire partie d’une équipe de protection de l'enfance.

Le Manuel de pratique comprend le Plan de développement familial (PDF). Ce plan écrit énumère  les compétences de la famille d’accueil, les objectifs annuels en matière de formation , les étapes  pour atteindre les objectifs et les façons d’évaluer l’atteinte des objectifs. La famille et l'agence collaborent à la préparation du PDF. Ce plan oriente le processus continu visant à former et à soutenir  chaque famille d'accueil et peut guider le système général  de l'agence pour améliorer les compétences collectives des  parents  d’accueil. Le PDF aide ces parents et les organismes à déterminer comment  offrir « la formation pertinente aux bons parents  d'accueil ».

Le Guide du formateur comprend le contenu  et les instructions pour animer  neuf séances  de trois heures auprès de familles d’accueil potentielles.

Séance 1 : Survol du programme  PPSFR

Séance 2 : Travail d'équipe vers la permanence

Séance 3 : Répondre aux besoins développementaux : L'attachement

Séance 4 : Répondre aux besoins développementaux : La perte

Séance 5 : Appuyer  les relations familiales

Séance 6 : Répondre aux besoins développementaux : La discipline

Séance 7 : Les relations familiales durables

Séance 8 : Préparer  le changement

Séance 9 : Prendre une décision éclairée : Suivre la formation du PPSFR

Formation PPSFR/Accueil-Base et les ressources

La formation interne PPSFR/Base comprend 10 modules portant sur les compétences des parents d’accueil . La durée des modules varie de trois à quinze heures chacun pour un total de 84 heures.

Le Guide du formateur contient la matière et les instructions pour animer les modules. Voici la liste des modules par sujet et selon la durée :

Module 1: Prémisse pour répondre aux besoins développementaux des enfants à risque (12 heures)

Module 2: Se servir de la discipline pour protéger, éduquer  et répondre aux besoins développementaux (9 heures)

Module 3: Faire face aux problèmes de développement relatifs à la sexualité (3 heures)

Module 4: Réagir aux signes et aux symptômes de violence  sexuelle (6 heures)

Module 5: Favoriser les relations entre les enfants et leurs familles (9 heures)

Module 6: Travailler en tant que  membre professionnel de l'équipe (9 heures)

Module 7: Promouvoir l'identité personnelle et culturelle des enfants (6 heures)

Module 8: Promouvoir l'atteinte de résultats durables (9 heures)

Module 9: Gérer l'expérience de parent d'accueil (6 heures)

Module 10: Comprendre les conséquences de la chimiodépendance sur les enfants et les familles (15 heures).

Chaque module comprend un livre du PPSFR qui comporte toutes lesressources documentaires  que les participants utiliseront lors des sessions. Ce livre sert aussi d’outil de référence à la maison.  Le document  contient  des feuilles de travail à utiliser lors des sessions , un sommaire du contenu de la session  et de la lecture  à lire à la maison.

Mise en oeuvre du programme PPSFR

Par le biais de son travail avec les organismes gouvernementaux qui ont collaboré à l’élaboration du programme PPSFR, l’Institut de formation de la CWLA a acquis de l'expérience  à  aider les agences à concevoir et appliquer, dans l’ensemble du réseau, un plan pour mettre en œuvre le programme de formation PPSFR. Le personnel de l'Institut chargé de la formation peut agir comme consultant et apporter de l'assistance technique aux unités de formation des agences ainsi qu'aux groupes de gestion et de planification soucieux d'améliorer la qualité des soins offerts par les  familles d'accueil et par les services d'adoption.

Le personnel de l'Institut peut offrir une variété de services de formation en fonction des besoins particuliers. En voici quelques  exemples :

Ateliers d'une demi-journée et d'une journée entière pour faire connaître le programme au personnel de l'agence, aux parents  d’accueil et aux parents adoptifs.

Formation intensive sur place destinée aux spécialistes et aux formateurs en développement familial sur l’animation des sessions  de PPSFR/Accueil et PPSFR/Adoption ainsi que sur l'évaluation des familles.

Formation destinée aux formateurs de l'agence sur les façons  d’enseigner le programme PPSFR sur une base continue  aux formateurs et aux spécialistes du développement familial.

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires :
Courriel : info@cwlc.ca

**NB** La LBEC n'offre pas de la formation ou des ateliers pour le PPSFR. Contactez la Centre jeunesse la plus proche de vous ou communiquez avec les services locaux de protection. Ici une liste par province et territoire.

Faire un don maintenant par CanadaHelps.org